Code Documentation

One of the most important aspects of code is to make sure that others who work on or are reading your code can understand what is happening. In class, we have been discussing clean code and improving readability which is where the correlation comes into play which is what inspired me to read further onto the fine details of what entails good code documentation. The blog post I chose for this week’s post was “Shaping better software: The benefits of effective code documentation” by Anabelle Zaluski. The goal of the post was to discuss the importance of having good code documentation and what qualifies as good code documentation.

The blog post starts off with explaining why code documentation is very important as it is like a map for your code. Good code documentation is what allows people to navigate your code effectively and efficiently. According to Zaluski the main information that should be included to qualify as effective code documentation is: “Dos and Don’ts, Clear explanations of each aspect of the application, Illustrative images, including sequence and entity relationship diagrams, and API documentation explaining each class, method, and return value”. She then explained the different types of code documentation as internal, external, low-level, walk through and high-level. With the end of the post explaining the benefits and challenges of implementing good code documentation into your team’s work routine. Some of the benefits included improving team collaboration, supporting maintenance and bug fixing, as well as increasing organizational growth. However, some of the challenges mentioned were staying up to date, managing documentation of non-linear code, and knowing how to document things for various knowledge levels.

I chose this blog post since we have been discussing what clean code is and why we should be using it in our own work. Due to that I thought this blog post was perfect to allow me to connect other ways I should be working to improve the quality of my work. To me this blog post was a very useful lesson reinforcing key points about documentation as well as teaching me aspects that I was unaware of. As we are learning more and more about how to structure our code to improve the quality as well as the efficiency of our team based code. From this blog, I feel like I will be able to implement the strategies and qualities mentioned for good code documentation to improve how I document my work in the future.

https://www.notion.so/blog/code-documentation


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started